This applies to AccountEdge Hosted cloud desktops. If you are on session-based AccountEdge Hosted, where several users share one server, see Lock Files in Session-Based AccountEdge Hosted instead.
Background
If AccountEdge Pro crashes or closes out improperly it can cause an issue with lingering lock files. Lock files are created when you log in to the company file and should be deleted automatically when you quit out of the software. If the software is terminated improperly (i.e., it crashes) those lock files will not be cleared and the program will think you are still logged into the file even though you are not.
You can resolve this by:
1. Having everyone log out of the data file. Open the folder that contains the company file. Delete any .flk files that you find (access####.flk or lock####.flk files).
2. Restart the virtual server through the control panel login. For the full procedure, see AccountEdge Hosted: Restarting the VDI server through Control Panel.
Deleting a Lock File
Ensure that all users have logged out of AccountEdge Pro.
Click Start > Power > Restart to restart the server.
Once the desktop begins to restart, the remote connection will be disconnected. After the desktop has had time to restart, reconnect via Remote Desktop. Once reconnected, you will be able to delete the lock files.
Open File Explorer and navigate to the location of the company file. You can also use Company Data Auditor to find the location of your AccountEdge company file, which is where lock files live as well. Company Data Auditor can be found once you log in to AccountEdge: from the main window click Accounts > Company Data Auditor, then click the File Location link.
Delete any .flk file(s). Right click and choose Delete.
Once the lock files have been removed, all users may sign in.
